10:20am

Gooodd morning and a happy funny fish Friday to you all!!
Can you guess where I am right now..? Haha yep I'm at work ... it's a Long shift today (7.5hours) so I'm taking it easy and sitting down with some coffee right now.

I came to work a bit early today, so that I had time to put everything out and then do my morning meditation... which is the topic of today's blog :] I only managed to do about 15 minutes opposed to 20 minutes, which is what I aim for (well, currently I'm more like building up to that LOL) But I figure that something is better than not doing it at all right??

Growing up, the concept of meditation and any attempts I made of doing it, made me Really uncomfortable, so it's something I've always avoided and thought was stupid. Might be in part because it was always in a group setting, where I'm uncomfortable closing my eyes, the guided style of imagining a place and being told to "relax" is just. Not for me.
As of late though, I've realized just how frazzled I am all the time, even when I'm asleep since my dreamscape is kinda nightmarish... As soon as I wake up I'm thinking so many things of what to do that it overwhelms me and I end up not doing anything at all. When I'm not at work, 80% of my free time I spend in my room, in the exact same spot in my bed, trying to keep my brain constantly stimulated whether it's with music or games or surfing the web, and it leaves me feeling so lost and worn out that I nap every afternoon.

Well... Recently I watched the entirety of Twin Peaks (IT'S PEAK) and have been looking into other works of David Lynch + his philosophies, which is where I was introduced to the Transcendental Meditation technique! Something that Lynch has practiced daily for most of his life.
TM is a non-religious(this is huge for me), mantra-based method of meditation, which is done for 20 minutes twice a day, sitting comfortably with your eyes closed. There is no need to think about your breathing or concentrate on anything but simply repeating your 2 syllable mantra at whatever intervals, and should you notice your mind has wandered, simply return to the mantra!
TM is regarded as one of the easiest methods of meditation, that is very personalizable and should require no effort. Now, there is sort of an organization/business around transcendental meditation, that will tell you you need to have a teacher and pay to get all the deets and whatnot, but you really don't.

I'm only just getting into TM still, and have yet to do twice a day, or a full 20 minutes yet, but I feel pretty good about this and plan to stick with it, so I wanted to share with you all ^_^. This is my April Jewels..... I will definitely update and speak more about this in the future, but for now that's it. If you want to do more reading about TM, here's a really nice article I found which I referenced while writing this
[a skeptic's thoughts on Transcendental Meditation]
.


Thanks for reading, and take care of yourself.